Home About us For hotels Countries Cities Hotels Contacts Русский

Cities list

  1. Baku
  2. Bilgah
  3. Gabala
  4. Ganja


Official name: Republic of Azerbaijan

Political system: Republic

The head of the state: President

Legislature: National Assembly - Majlis

Geographical location: in the South-Eastern Asia

Capital: Baku - 1,917 million people

Major cities: Gyandja, Sumgait

Official language: Azerbaijani

Religions: Muslims, Orthodox, Jews

Climate: transitional from moderate to subtropical

Average temperature: +2,7°С in January; +24,1°С in July

Monetary unit: Azerbaijan manat (AZM)

Telephone country code: 994

International country code: AZE

Internet domain: .az

National holidays: May, 28th - the Republic Day (1918); October, 18th - the Independence Day (1991)

Major tourist sights: Istysu and Naftalan resorts, 3 natural preserves, Gobustan Ancient Caves Museum; in Gyandja: Gei-Imam Cult Complex (XIV-XVII centuries), Djuma Mosque (XVII century); in Sheki: Shekins Shakhs Palace (VII century), Albanian Church (I century); in Baku: Icheri-Sheher Historical and Architectural Preserve (IX century), Synyk-Kala Minaret (XI century), Shirvan Shakhs Palace Ensemble (XVII century), Maiden Tower (IX-XII centuries), Yanardag ("burning mountain")